About Us

Formation of the Derby Recreation Commission

In the April 1980 general election, the citizens of USD 260 voted to create a 1 mill levy tax assessment for the establishment of an organized recreation program throughout USD 260. The vote was made possible through a joint resolution drawn by the City of Derby and the USD 260 board in accordance with state statutes. 

The Derby Recreation Commission is an autonomous governmental body governed by a five-member board. The board is appointed by the city of Derby (two members) the school board (two members) and an at-large appointment. 

Mission Statement
Embrace the spirit of community by creating innovative environments that promote a culture of lifelong personal growth.

Vision Statement
Inspire the highest quality of life through exceptional experiences.

2018 Annual Report
2019 Annual Report
2020 Annual Report


  • 6:00 p.m.
  • Second Tuesday of the month
  • Derby Recreation Center
  • 801 E. Market Derby, KS 67037    
  • To speak at a DRC Board Meeting, click here for the Public Forum request and return to the DRC prior to the meeting you wish to speak at.

Commission Members

Email entire Board 

  1. Rick Ruff new

    Rick Ruff

    Board Member

  2. KerryDexterWeb (Copy)

    Kerry Dexter

    Vice Chairman

  3. Laura Branstetter

    Laura Branstetter


  4. EricTower

    Eric Tauer


  5. Brent

    Brent Renberger

    Board Member